FashionDesign awards 2017

Congratulations to our OSA Fashion Design students who took top honors at the 2017 Ohlone College High School Theater Festival: Nevaeh Travino - 1st Place Make-up Design Fantasy, Michaela Maloney - 1st Place Make-up Design Horror, and Zachery Fernandez - 1st Place Costume Design.

If you would like to see Neveah, Michaela and Zachery show their latest work at OSA's annual Fashion Show on May 17 - 20, please *LIKE* and follow our PAGE to be notified when tickets go on sale. Tickets are limited and will sell out quickly.

Fashion Design:
1st place: Fantasy Make-up: Neveah Trevino
1st place: Horror Make-up: Michaela Malone
1st place: Costume design: Zachary Fernandez

Production Design:
1st place: Set Design: Lilli Fore
2nd place: Set Design: Jalua Dell
1st place: Sound Design: Stewart Homans, Alawna Sullivan Jimenez, Mamiyana Brown, Kipper Fletcher
1st place: Lighting Design: Alawna Sullivan Jimenez, Thomas Ruane, Emma Shea, Ezra Gaskin
2nd place: Tech Olympic Relay: Mamiyana Brown, Thomas Ruane, Sara Wizig, Ezra Gaskin
3rd place: Model Making: Jalua Dell, Evan Streshinsky, Sara Wizig, Kipper Fletcher

Technical Sweepstakes Award: to the school with the highest number of tech and design points.


ICHSA (International Championship of High School A Cappella -- the competition that Vocal Rush has won three times in the past five years) is having a West Semi-Final event in Walnut Creek for the first time this year. Come and enjoy the performance!

Press article - http://www.eastbaytimes.com/2017/03/07/young-a-cappella-stars-heading-to-walnut-creek/

Tickets available - https://lesherartscenter.showare.com/eventperformances.asp?evt=715

OSA's 9th grader Maya Vaughan won the design competition for Schoolzilla's #dcs17 t-shirts. Congratulations! Checkout the winning design here - https://pic.twitter.com/vrpYDBTvnx

oaklandsymphonyCongratulations to Taijee Shavers, a Sophomore in Instrumental Music (French Horn & Saxophone), for his new internship with the Oakland Symphony!! In this capacity Taijee will assist with their music library, special events, and in general get a first hand glimpse of a professional music environment. Great work Taijee!

Congratulations to the winners of Instrumental Music's first Concerto Competition. The winners will perform alongside the OSA Chamber Orchestra on April 21st at the Asian Cultural Center at 6:30pm. This concert will also feature student compositions performed by a group of professional musicians, The Left Coast Ensemble. Funding for this amazing event is provided in full by a grant from Oakland Arts for Kids.

High School and Middle School Winners:
Morgan Chan (Saint Seans' Piano Concerto in G minor)
Kayla Phan (Mozart's Violin Concerto in D K218)
Taylor Moses (Martin's Flute Concerto)
Sylvia Ettinger (Kenna's Nigh Soliloquy for Flute and Orchestra)

Honorable Mentions:
Jason Larios (Mendelssohn's Piano Concerto No 1)
Ella Duchesneau (Grieg's Piano Concerto No 1)
Benjamin Kim (Vivaldi's Concerto in g minor)
Tuki Bashore-Walker (Bach's Concerto in C Minor)  


Instrumental music students will be performing at this year's Mercury Soul event at the DNA lounge - the event will also feature OSA Visual Artists and screenings by Digital Media. Come on by to support the kids!

Feb. 24, 2-4pm
DNA Lounge, 375 Eleventh St.
ymtcThe Bay Area's Youth Musical Theater Company (YMTC) production of "Spring Awakening" includes four OSA students: 

Tatianna Cordoba (Vocal Music) plays the lead as Wendla, Asher Witkin (Vocal Music) is Ernst, Ella Zalon (Literary Arts) plays Ilse and Bell Coles (Literary Arts) is Thea.

Winner of eight Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Spring Awakening explores the journey from adolescence to adulthood with an electrifying fusion of morality, sexuality and rock and roll. 


Ari Brodie-Weisberg: Gold Key and Silver Key for Personal Essay/Memoir
Chloe Smith: two Silver Keys for Dramatic Script
Emma Talamantes: Honorable Mention for Poetry
Leila Mottley: Silver Key in Personal Essay/Memoir and Silver Key in Novel Writing
Pablo Gomez Echegaray: Silver Key and Honorable Mention in Poetry
Rose Gelfand: Honorable Mention in Poetry